Kingdom of Adventistan
Gregory Matthews

Who is JoMo?

Gregory Matthews

[I am transferring JoMOs post about himself to this thread--GM.]

Hey Wanderer,

Nice to "see" you!  A little about me:

I was raised as a good Catholic in a nice Italian family.  I always wanted to be a priest - until I discovered girls; and that lifelong celibacy thing was a deal-breaker.  As I went through my 20's and 30's, I became dissatisfied with Catholicism and started searching.  I was one of the original hippies in the late 1960's,  and became a complete new-age pagan Bohemian.  After graduation, I felt an urge to return to God.  I studied with JW's for a couple years; and about a month before I was to be baptized, I "discovered" the Sabbath through the Worldwide Church of God (Herbert and Garner Ted Armstrong).  We then moved from Missouri (pronounced Misery) to New Mexico in 1975.  There was no WWCoG there, so I looked through the phone book for a Christian Sabbath-Keeping church and stumbled upon SDA's I called the pastor and requested Bible Studies, got baptized, and it "took".

I was a real "Taliban" Adventist for many years - made EGW look like an infidel.  The legalism and paranoia about not being "good enough" and having my "brothers" watch over and critique every move my family made was really discouraging.  When my favorite pastor ever was drummed out of our congregation (and lost his credentials) for initiating a contemporary Sabbath service, I got so mad I left the church and joined a charismatic congregation.  That was a very enlightening and positive experience.