Kingdom of Adventistan
Gregory Matthews

A comment on Annual Council

Gregory Matthews

Today, October 10, the Annual Council is talking about denominational membership and the fact that in a year, 40 people will drop out for every 100 who will join, and that we really do  not know and understand the dynamics taking place in these people.

I am attempting to post the following comment on the Review website to address this issue in a small way.  I do not know yet if the Review will post my comment.

It is of interest to me that Annual Council has focused on our membership loss and an assumption that  we really do not understand the dynamics that may result in a person leaving the denomination.

I have been a congregational pastor and I have observed and experienced psychological dynamics within our congregations that were outside of my training and understanding at that time.  We may need leaders who better understand how people function emotionally and we may need to provide on a Conference level better resources than are commonly available.

I presently have a graduate degree in psychology.  While working on that degree I experienced SDAs with complex problems coming to our clinic because they could not relate to a clergyperson who told them that their first issue was to forgive and forget.  While that might be an appropriate issue, it is not likely to be the first issue that they needed to face.

As a Chaplain, in a non-SDA institution, I have had wounded ex-members come to me because they needed to talk.  I think of one who when she converted became pregnant by the local Elder who was giving her Bible studies.   When the congregation learned of the situation they turned upon her as the one who had led the man into sin.